Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force

On August 11, 2020, The Board of Selectmen established a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force comprised of an intentionally Handsdiverse cohort of Shrewsbury residents representing a cross section of the population and numbering no more than 30 individuals. Each board or committee listed below is invited to appoint one designee to serve as part of the membership of this newly formed task force:


  • Board of Selectmen
  • School Committee
  • Board of Health
  • Council on Aging
  • Commission on Disabilities

The remaining members will be appointed by the Board of Selectmen and responsible for organizing themselves in a way that allows for the completion of the following charge:


  • Examine and evaluate existing policies and procedures currently in place within the Town of Shrewsbury related to diversity, equity and inclusion
  • Complete this work by offering many opportunities for extensive community engagement employing a variety of means including but not limited to interviews, public listening sessions, surveys, programs and social media 
  • Identify potential areas for improvement based on relevant local, state and national research determining best practices
  • Provide quarterly written updates to the Board of Selectmen highlighting work done and progress made
  • Submit a written report detailing the findings and recommendations of the committee to the Board of Selectmen within 12 months from the creation of the committee

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force will be supported by a staff member from the Town Manager’s Office. Requests for information from town staff or departments shall be made through the support staff rather than directly by task force members. 


At any point during their work, the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force may seek support of Town Staff or other bodies the committee deems appropriate, including but not limited to those listed below:

  • Library
  • Police
  • Fire
  • Town Manager or Assistant Town Manager
  • Shrewsbury Youth and Family Services
  • Shrewsbury Housing Authority
  • Shrewsbury Ecumenical Council
  • India Society of Worcester

Membership of the Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Task Force 
Beth Casavant- Board of Selectmen Lynsey Heffernan- School CommitteeJennie Fishman- Board of HealthZoya Mehta- Council on AgingDeb DelDotto- Commission on Disabilities
Ruth Febo- Co-Chair
Adeola Mbaneme - Co-Chair
Maura Egan - Clerk
Elizabeth Hylton
Gene Buddenhagen
Helene Winn
Janine Sands
Leonora Ryan
Louise Garone
Richard Petrucci
Roop Jyot Kaur
Allen Jarrell
Juan Acosta
Kelly Joseph

Maura Egan
Donna Jarrell
Milind Kanitkar
Navjeet Singh
Noor Ali
Paula Collins
Priya Rathnam
Rajesh Velagapudi