Report Request

Massachusetts General Laws About Public Record Requests
Requests for public records may be oral, written, in person or by mail (Massachusetts General Laws (M.G.L.) Chapter 66, Section 10 (b).

A requestor need not identify himself 950 CMR 32.05 (5) (PDF) (Unless requesting that reports be mailed to you.) All requests will receive a response within ten days (M.G.L. Chapter 66, Section 10 (a-b)).

Fees: M.G.L. Chapter 66, Section 10 (a). (All fees must be paid in advance.)
 
  • Cost for reports: $0.05 per page plus postage costs.
Record Release Denial
Any person denied a public record may seek redress through the administrative process provided by the Office of the Supervisor of Public Records (950 CMR 32.08 (2)).

Reports will not be released until the investigation has been completed, the report filed, typed, and reviewed by a supervisor. This generally takes a minimum of 4 weeks.