Procedures for All Levies - Mass General Law, Chapter 60, Section 15
Boat excise is due within 60 days of issue.
Delinquent boat excise will be assessed an additional $20 fee.
Delivery service of a warrant to collect to the last known place of abode occurs 30 days after the mailing of the notice and is assessed a $17 fee.
Demands may be issued the day after the due date and are assessed a $5 fee.
Exhibition of the warrant may be prepared the day after the demand is due and is assessed a $10 fee.
Interest in all cases will be calculated from the first day late at a rate of 14% on real estate, personal property and water/sewer and 12% on motor vehicle and boat excise.
Notice of warrant may be mailed the day after the demand is due and is assessed a $12 fee.
Registry mark occurs only on motor vehicle excise levies any time after the delivery of the warrant and is assessed a $20 fee.
The following are all due within 30 days of issue:
Motor vehicle excise
Any check written to the town and returned for insufficient funds, closed accounts, etc., will be subject under the provisions of Chapter 432 of the acts of 1989, amending Massachusetts General Law (60:57 (A)), and Chapter 226 of the acts of 1991, amending Massachusetts General Law (44:69), a penalty of $25 or 1% of the check, whichever is greater.
The maker of the check will be notified by mail regarding the returned item and will have ten (10) business days to respond. All checks must be paid directly to the Treasurer's Office in the form of a bank check, money order or cash.
Failure to respond to this letter will result in collection being forwarded to a constable for service, at which time payment is due within 48 hours.