Permits

Inspections
The Shrewsbury Fire Department inspects:
  • Alterations to oil-fired heating systems
  • Commercial garages
  • Homes engaged in any mortgage transaction
  • Most remodeling projects
  • New homes
Permits
Blasting
  • Duration: 30 days
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal reference: 527 CMR 13.04(2), 13.04(11)
Blasting Permits are issued to blasters after certain documents are collected and filed at the fire department, including:
  • A description of the work to be performed
  • Copies of blasters licenses
  • Insurance bond statements
  • Use and possess certificates
Cutting & Welding
  • 1 permit site per job
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal reference: 34.09
Commonly referred to as "hot work permits," this is issued following filing at the fire department of a description of work to be done and demonstration of knowledge in the pertinent laws governing welding and cutting.

Explosives & Black Powder
  • Fee: $25
  • Legal reference: 13.04
  • Perpetual permit
This permit is typically issued to sportsmen and musket owners and informative in nature, informing the fire department of the presence of black powder in a certain residence.

Fire Protection Equipment
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal references: 10.03 (15), Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 148.27A
This permit requires delivery of plans to the Fire Department for a compliance review prior to undertaking work such as replacing, adding, or installing fire protection equipment.

Fire Protection System
  • 1 permit per system
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal reference: 10.03 (15)
This permit requires delivery of plans to the Fire Department for a compliance review prior to undertaking work such as replacing, adding, or installing fire protection equipment.

Fireworks Display
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal references: 2.05, Massachusetts General Law Chapter 148.39A
Anyone wishing to use any type of pyrotechnics (across the spectrum, from flash paper to aerial rockets) is required to provide fire department a certificate of competency, license, and bonding certificates and have the site approved and inspected prior to set-up.

Flammable & Combustible Liquids
  • 1 permit per each location
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal reference: 14.03, 15.04, Massachusetts General Law Chapter 148.23
The law refers to certain gallon limitations of different kinds of flammable/combustible liquids that can be stored, requiring a permit from the fire department.

Flammable Gasses & Solids
  • 1 permit per each installation
  • Fee: $25
  • Legal reference: 14.03
The law refers to certain gallon limitations of different kinds of flammable/combustible gasses or solids that can be stored, requiring a permit from the fire department.

Fuel Transfer Operations
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal reference: 5.08
All fuel transfer stations are to be registered with and inspected by the Fire Department.

Liquefied Petroleum (LP) Gas
  • 1 permit per each installation
  • Fee: $25
  • Legal reference: 6.08
All storage of LP gas (in excess of 20-pound home use cylinders) is required to be registered with the Fire Department. (Fire Department note: Storage of this material is not allowed above ground level or below ground level. This is especially important in multiple family occupancies. No LP gas grilles are allowed unless used on ground level, away from combustibles, i.e.: decks and buildings.)

Oil Burning Equipment - Burner Related Installation, alteration, or replacement of an oil burner and/or a fuel line requires a permit and a follow-up inspection. (Fire Department note: Any work done to your oil burner that changes the configuration of the unit requires a permit and inspection of the completed work. Call the Fire Department if you are unsure. Call the Fire Department if you have had work done and have not seen a Fire Department inspector.)

Oil Burning Equipment - Tank Related Installation, alteration, or replacement of an oil burner and/or a fuel line requires a permit and a follow-up inspection. (Fire Department note: Any work done to your oil burner that changes the configuration of the unit requires a permit and inspection of the completed work. Call the Fire Department if you are unsure. Call the Fire Department if you have had work done and have not seen a Fire Department inspector.)

Open Air Fires
  • 1 permit annually
  • Fee: $25
  • Legal references: 10.02
Annually, from January 15 through May 1 the State Department of Environmental protection, in cooperation with the State Fire Marshals Office, offers an "open-burning season." The purpose of this burning allowance is to clean up your garden in preparation of the new growing season and to dispose of "droppings from the trees and brush that have accumulated over the winter." This is not meant for land-clearing or disposal of whole trees that have been felled for whatever reason. Burning of leaves or grass are strictly prohibited. One permit is issued and recorded. Each day the permit holder is required to call and request permission to burn for that day. Permission will be granted based on wind and weather conditions at the time. The state may stop all open burning at any time. A copy of the rules governing open burning is provided with every permit issuance.

Rubbish Containers (Dumpsters)
  • Annual renewal
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal reference: 34.03
Every dumpster, 6 yards or larger, is required to be registered with the Fire Department. Inspection includes verifying type of dumpster and establishing proper placement of the container. Open-top and plastic top containers are required to be placed a minimum of 6 feet from any portion of the building that is combustible construction. This includes the soffits of a block or brick building.

Salamanders
  • 1 permit per construction site
  • Fee: $25
  • Legal reference: 20.01
The use of salamanders is never allowed if there is living occupancy within the property. Salamanders are allowed in buildings under construction only, the sole purpose of which is to heat/dry materials used in construction.

Smoke Detectors
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal reference: Massachusetts General Law 148.26F
A residential smoke detector permit is required every time your have interaction with a lending institution. The Fire Department is required to physically test every detector for operational compliance. Different systems (battery operated, hand wired and hard wired with battery back-up) are allowed depending on the age of the property. Fire Department note: Any system in place is allowed to be up-graded, but no system can be changed out to a lesser system. Any system change must meet all the requirements of the new system installed. At this writing (October 2003), garage protection is not required. Private alarm systems monitored by a central station require the presence of a representative of the monitoring company to be present for testing. The fire department will not be responsible for testing any device installed without a test button directly built in to the device. Using a test button remotely located is not acceptable as an individual test.

Special Seasonal Decorations
  • Fee: $25
  • Legal reference: 21.02
Planning a holiday display? If this is in a public area the display is required to be inspected for compliance with fire and building safety regulations. No live corn stalks, hay bales, or Christmas trees are allowed in public places. Combustible materials that are allowed are required to be treated to reduce combustibility if the display is over a certain size or volume. Remember, the public relies on you and has a certain expectation that you will keep them safe by following all the laws relative to fire and life safety.

Tank Vehicles Parked Overnight
  • Fee: $25
  • Legal references: 8.04, 14.03
  • Permit renewal required every 2 years
Any tank truck parked in town overnight on a regular basis is subject to registration with the Fire Department and inspection, culminating in a special placard being affixed to the vehicle for identification purposes.

Torches & Heat-Producing Devices
  • 1 permit per site, per job
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal references: 10.24
Commonly referred to as "hot work permits," these are issued following filing at the Fire Department of a description of work to be done. This section refers to paint stripping and other related work on buildings.

Transportation of Combustible Liquids
  • Fee: $50
  • Legal references: 8.04
  • Permit renewal required every 2 years
Any vehicle with an auxiliary tank on it is subject to registration with the Fire Department and inspection, culminating in a special placard being affixed to the vehicle for identification purposes.

Additional Permits & Legal References

  • Bonfires and Burning Christmas Trees -10.23
  • Bowling Pin and Lane Refinishing - 10.15
  • Cannon and Mortar Firing - 22.03
  • Cellulose Nitrate Film - 10.27
  • Combustible Fibers - 28.03
  • Compressed Natural Gas - 26.08
  • Covered Mall Buildings - 10.26
  • Dust Explosion Prevention - 10.16
  • Fireworks - Manufacturing, Storage and Handling - 2.03, Massachusetts General Law Chapter 148.12
  • Fumigation and Insecticidal Fogging - 10.06
  • Limited Special Effects - 2.09
  • Matches - 10.18
  • Ovens and Furnaces - 10.19
  • Storage, Combustible Materials - 10.03
  • Tar Kettles on Roofs - 10.03
  • Tire Storage - 10.03