Community Preservation Committee

About the Committee:

The Town of Shrewsbury adopted the Community Preservation Act (CPA) in August 8, 2020. The CPA is a smart growth tool that helps communities preserve open space and historic sites, create affordable housing, and develop outdoor recreational facilities. CPA also helps strengthen the state and local economies by expanding housing opportunities and construction jobs for the Commonwealth's workforce, and by supporting the tourism industry through preservation of the Commonwealth’s historic and natural resources Each community that adopts the Community Preservation Act is required to establish a Community Preservation Committee (CPC) to administer the program.  


The Board of Selectmen appointed the At-Large Shrewsbury Community Preservation Committee on March 16, 2021. The Planning Board, Conservation Commission, Historical Commission, Shrewsbury Housing Authority and Parks and Cemetery Commission appointed 1 member from their respective groups to serve on the Community Preservation Committee.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes

Committee Members

  • Rajesh Velagapudi, At Large Member
  • Debra Mooney, At Large Member 
  • Melanie Magee, At Large Member 
  • Jason Molina, At Large Member 
  • Martha Gach, Conservation Commission Representative
  • Gail Aslanian, Historical Commission Representative
  • Steven Boulay, Planning Board Representative 
  • James LeMay, Parks & Cemetery Commission Representative
  • Kathleen McSweeney, Housing Authority Representative

Staff Liaison

  • Rowen McAllister, Department of Planning and Economic Development

Referenced Documents

  1. Public Parking in Town Center

    Public Parking is now available at the Old Beal School, 1 Maple Avenue, in Shrewsbury’s Town Center District! Read on...
View All